Oh my SINIGANG ala MEL

June 04 2016  |  1:00 pm

My First Entry: Oh my SINIGANG ala MEL

 

Last week was a HELL week for me and Mel, I got my worst flu ever. That was a 5 nerve wracking days for us at first we thought it was just “lagnat laki” thing but men oh men! as the day closes by my fever went up as in I was in scorching hot temperature and to top it all I also got my forever best friend MIGRAINE haisstt talking about bad day huh well to make the story short I was advised to take things slow and have a plenty of rest.

Wait a second doctor you mean REST? Yeheeyyyyy my favorite part of being sick! but whose gonna cook, do the laundry and clean the house? Oh no! Oh God not him! >>> MEL. “Pls. po Lord gusto ko pa po mabuhay ng matagal!” that was my silent prayer when I had no choice but to let my husband cook. I had to think of a fast and easy way for him to understand the word “cook” plus I  really want to drink some soup that is not coming from a pouch or a cup. Now, now, Michelle calmed yourself and think… solution?

Let’s cook  PORK SINIGANG.

First thing FIRST, I made him a small list of ingredients to buy at our neighborhood’s wet market but since he doesn’t know anything with regards to RAW food, the handsome & wise husband of mine went to the supermarket! Tsk! Tricky Melchie!!! oh well I had no time to object since I’m still in pain and high fever.  I’ll let it pass (this time only).

Here it is guys, Presenting Melchie’s First Pork Sinigang…

060416-1300h-sinigang-s4

It was superb! He got the perfect balance of sourness of the broth plus the veggies we’re perfectly cooked and the meat was so tender as in it falls out of the bone. But the most important thing is that, we had learned some  important lessons in life during those 5 days and we hope one way or another we could bring a little help to you.

  1. With all this weather issues we had here in our country, “iinit uulan pero mainit pa rin ang paligid” what we have learned is to take lots of water much better if it is at room temperature only (to avoid swelling of your tonsils which what happened) and drink 3 cups of warm green tea everyday. This had helped me during those antibiotic days, and it really relaxes me (especially JASMINE green tea) when I got a very high fever.
  1. Avoid over eating (don’t know if this is the right term oh well..) try to eat small portions only. This will help our body to adjust well with the ever changing climate. One of my complaints 1 week before I got sick is that I always feel bloated and knowing my love for food I just ignored my body’s warning, I kept eating and the result is, I vomited during the first day of my fever but that was not the worst part, since I can’t get up from the bed because I was chilling from a high fever I did all this gruesome thing while I was in bed woottt woottt what a way to have a revenge my sexy body tsk!
  1. Lastly, try to teach each other (your husband or wife) on how to do things inside the house. It’s a form of backing each other up. Me and Mel really regret this, we should have done this wayyyyyyy back before… oh well, as the older people says “ asa huli ang pagsisi” and “matuto ka sa pagkakamali mo” that is why when I gain my full strength back I shall teach him to do the laundry (evil smile).

 

Here’s our PORK SINIGANG ala MEL recipe:

060416-1300h-sinigang-s1

Ingredients:

  • 1 kilo of pork ribs (cut into stewing size)
  • 2 pieces red onion (cut into quarters)
  • 2 pieces ripe tomatoes (cut into quarters.)
  • 1 radish (peeled and cut diagonally)
  • 4 pieces okra (cut diagonally)
  • 1 bunch (tale) kangkong or water spinach
  • 1 pack Knorr Sinigang mix (big pack)
  • patis to taste

 

Procedure:

  1. In a stewing pot, put the pork ribs, onion and tomatoes.
  2. Pour enough water to cover the meat.
  3. Set the stove to medium-high power. (We were using induction stove we set ours at 500.)
  4. Let it boil for 30 mins to 1 hr depending on the toughness of the meat.                      Note:   During this process me lalabas na dumi from the meat, you have to skimmed it out of              the broth or else magiging dark yun kulay ng broth nyo.                                                    060416-1300h-sinigang-s2
  5. Once the meat is tender, add the radish, okra and the sinigang mix.
  6. Seasoned with patis.                                                                                                                           Note:   When I’m stewing meat I usually add salt or patis at the end kasi sabi nila when you               add salt before mo palambutin, magiging tough yun meat.
  7. When the veggies are almost done, turn off the heat and add the kangkong.                 Note:   The residual heat will cook the kangkong leaves.

 

 

Leave a Reply

