Tipid Meals : Spring Rolls

September 21, 2016

Hi there! Actually I’m on a silent battle with my colorful hare brain right now, I don’t know if I’ll continue to update my two previous journal entry or I’ll start fresh since we already found and settled on our new “temporary” house. Ohhhh god! Here we go again, decisions to make and actions to take! Anu ba talaga Michelle na makulittttttt…. Oh and why I called it a temporary house? Well to make the story short, Mel and I have to come here to supervise (right term?) and accompany my sister in her med school days.  Ok ok let’s go back to my uber habang thinking, I think let’s just start anew since the last two entries needs to be updated.

It was almost lunch time when Mel asked me if I can re-make my grandma’s lumpiang shanghai and my eyes immediately sparkles and my mouth answers faster than a stray bullet! “ Yessss nemen! I can! “ he answered me back “ok but we have to stick to our 200 peso or less budget” huwaaatttttttt!!! Naaaaa that can’t be oh goshhhh those little spring rolls are loaded as in super loaded with ingredients!(insert: sad face) But wait! I can make spring rolls with that given budget that can be eaten by 5 people but not as yummy as Nanay Anching’s version that was my rant during our coffee time (with a pout lips pa yan ha!) and this is how it goes every day in our life we would eat  yummy food but in a tight budget! So ang lola nyo need talaga mag improvise and mag invent para magkasya ang 200 peso budget na yan! Or else Michelley you’re not going to eat this yumminess! After 30 minutes of squishing (as in pigaan moment ito) my brain, staring at my 200 peso bill and scratching my belly I went over to the nearest supermarket in our area! Yes people SUPERMARKET! I had no choice since I’m new here and the freshest produce here in our new place is only available during weekend mornings. So guys here it is my version of TIPID MEAL SPRING ROLLS. Oh! and by the way I also include SOME of the prices here so that you guys can have the an idea on how much it cost and it’s yield!

Enjoy!

image6

Tipid Meals : Spring Rolls

Yield: 40 to 45 small pieces

  • 1 Pack of 20 pcs. PASTRY WRAPPERS (cut in half)     35.00 /pack*
  • ½ Kilo of ground pork                                                      90.00 pesos
  • 1 Piece Red bell peppers (finely chopped)                     19.25 /piece
  • 1 Piece Carrots (finely chopped)                                        7.50 /piece
  • 2 Pieces. Onion (finely chopped)                                     12.00 /2 pieces
  • 1 Pack parsley (finely chopped)                                        11.00 /pack*
  • 1 Medium size Egg                                                                 6.50 /piece
  • Couple drops of liquid seasoning
  • Salt & pepper
  • Cooking oil for frying

 

image1

*Note: Since there’s no KINCHAY sa supermarket I substitute it with locally grow PARSLEY. Nun inamoy ko naman sya halos same lang ang smell nya with Kinchay kaya feel ko keri na yan! Pero note to myself sabi ng mga taste testers ko mas ok daw ang KINCHAY!  and di ko na sinama sa computation yun liquid seasoning salt& pepper and oil since it’s a staple items in our pantry. Lastly, yun Pastry wrappers I cut it in half so that my spring rolls are on bit size pieces.

 

Procedure:

  1. Wash and strain the ground pork.
  2. Cut the carrots, onion, red bell peppers and kinchay or parsley into fine pieces. As seen below.image4
  3. In a small bowl, mix in together the vegetable, meat and egg. image5
  4. Put 1 tbsp. on the edge of the spring roll wrapper, roll it and seal the edges. I dab small amount of water at the edges of the wrapper so that it will stick together.
  5. Fry them. Until golden brown. Much better if it is deep fry.
  6. You can make a dipping sauce if you want, just mix mayo and catsup together.

 

My mom used a sweet and sour sauce to dip this spring rolls but since I don’t know how to make one, I opted to make the mayo-catsup dip and it was good but according to my sister it would be the best if I had used kinchay instead of the parsley so that’s one note for me! Second, they also told me next time I should add some cheese to it so it will level up the taste. Lastly, I should have looked for other wet market, so that I could have brought that block of cheese!!!!

By the way, all these prices are based on Robinson’s Supermarket and 10Q The Modern Sari-sari Store. See you on our next adventure… Stay Happy!

Leave a Reply

